My Thoughts on an Objective Summary

As a whole I did not think that the objective summary was too difficult; it did however, pose a few writing challenges that were rather new to me. First of all the topic itself caused some problem because it is one that I have a strong opinion on and the article that I chose to write about had a very different view then my own. This made it even more important that I did not add my own ideas into the summary. The second problem was that this is a very new form of writing to me. This being so, it was much more difficult to write objectively and to understand everything that was necessary to explain in the summary. In everyday life i would probably use this when I am explaining something a book or an article to someone or if I want someone to understand something with out forcing my own opinion on them.

~ by jmwells17 on September 9, 2011.

4 Responses to “My Thoughts on an Objective Summary”

  1. What was your viewpoint? Why do you have a strong opinion on the obesity issue?

  2. The essay that I read kind of made me mad because it lumped together obesity and socalism. These are two very different things and there is no reason that they should be thrown together. Obesity is a social and cultural problem for Americans and I do agree with the author that people need to be more responsible for themselves, but they also need to be educated on how to live a healthy like style and be aided by their government to get the resources that they need. My opinion on this is sow strong because i believe that there is no reason why a person should use obesity as a crutch in life; unless soneone has a medical condition that causes them to be that way there is no reason why they should not take the initiative in their own life and try to be healthy.

  3. Withholding our personal views is difficult while trying to write well. I just prefer to have an opportunity to give my own thoughts.

  4. Hey, I really like your stance on the obesity argument. I would agree with you that the paper was difficult to write because it is a completely different form of writing than we are used to. You seem to have a good understanding of what is expected of you on this paper though. I hope it turned out well in the end for you.
    -Jennifer

Leave a Reply

 
